Board of Trustees



Heather Allan  - RN RMN QSM JP (Chairperson)

Appointed 1991

Heather has extensive experience in Social Services, Health and Disability Sector, Local Government and Governance.  She is a member of the NZ Institute of Directors. 
Her roles include being a member of the Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee, Quality Governance Committee, CEO Employment Committee (Chairperson) and the Innovation Award Committee (Chairperson).





Sheena Mason BBS, CA (Deputy Chairperson)

Appointed 2009

Sheena is an Associate with BDO Manawatu and has been the firms' Audit Manager since 1986. Sheena is involved in other areas besides audit, including insolvency, and the farming, manufacturing and retailing industries. She has been a member of the New Zealand Institute of Chartered Accountants of NZ since 1986 and the Manawatu Branch Secretary since 1999. 
Sheena's other roles include being the Chair of the MASH Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee.

David A2015

David Ayling - BHB  MBChB  DipObst  DipChHealth  PGCertPHC  FRNZCGP
Appointed 2012

David is a General Practitioner by training and currently practices at the Youth One Stop in Palmerston North.  His experience spans General Practice, NGO, state sector organisation, PHO and DHB in senior clinical advisory, management and governance roles.  He is currently Clinical Director of the Youth One Stop Shop, Palmerston North;  Clinical Executive of the Primary, Public and Community cluster at MidCentral DHB; and is a member of the Alliance Leadership Team between MidCentral DHB and Central PHO.    
His roles at MASH include being a member of the MASH Quality Governance Committee and Chair of the Ethics Committee.


David B2015


David Barrett

Appointed 2007

David was appointed to the MASH Trust Board as the consumer representative in 2007.  He acts in an advisory role to the Trust Board for people with disabilities.  His other roles include being a member of the MASH Quality Governance Committee and the Innovation Award Committee.  David is also a member of the Whaioro Trust Board and LUCK Venue Inc. Board.

Julie 2015

Julie Nitschke  - RN MA (applied)

Appointed 2007

Julie has 34 Years experience in the New Zealand health service in operational management, service improvement, mental health, medical nursing primary health care and governance. she has extensive experience in quality surveying in a variety of healthcare settings in New Zealand and Australia and has undertaken various leadership roles including clinical leadership and governance, quality, risk and strategic development She is also Chair of the MASH Quality Governance Committee.
Peter 2015



Peter Rea -  Dip Bus Studs
Appointed 2003

Peter is an Authorised Financial Advisor and a Certified Financial Planner with 20 years experience in this field as well as more than 20 years in the banking Industry.  He is a Director of the Personal Investment Centre.  His roles include being a member of the MASH Finance, Audit and Risk Management Committee and a member of the CEO’s Appraisal Committee.  
John F2015

 John Fowke
Appointed 2014


John Fowke joined the MASH Trust Board in December 2014.  John worked as a corporate lawyer and tax consultant prior to joining Toyota NZ in 1986 where he had various roles covering Dealers, Information Services, Legal, Marketing and Finance as well as Motor Racing.  He is still an ambassador for the Toyota Racing Series. He joined the Trust Board of the Manawatu Community Law Centre in 2014 and he has been a Trustee of Te Manawa Museums Trust Board since 2005 and at present is the Chairperson of this organisation.  John is a member of the MASH Finance, Audit and Risk Management (FARM) Committee and the Property Sub-Committee.


In this section...